The Truth We Tell About Autism

A humbling, and kind, reminder that we ASD mommies and daddies don’t have ESP. Certainly, we know our children better than anyone else in the world, but we need to be mindful, at times, that we do not know everything that goes inside their beautiful little minds. Thank you, Julie Towe, for this beautiful reminder. I know I am as guilty as most, if not moreso, of forgetting this. ❤

Julie Roberts Towe

I could tell you the whole truth about me, at least, all of it I have come to terms with and understand. I could be 100% honest with you about all of my fears and faults.

But I can’t tell you the whole truth about my family, my neighbors, or my friends. Those truths are more subjective and not always mine to tell.

The truth about my autistic son, for instance, would depend on the person you asked. Even asking me would not get you an accurate answer because I’m not him and I don’t know everything he thinks and feels. Asking him will not get you a straight answer, either. I could write an entire post of truths and convince you that my son’s autism makes him a super hero of perfection. I could write an entire post of truths and convince you he is a horrible human being…

View original post 938 more words

Thoughts? I would love to hear them! Leave a reply!

