You Can’t Miss What You Never Had (The Autistic Mother’s Day)

Mothers of ASD Children oftentimes struggle on Mothers’ Day. But as much as we struggle, we are also so very grateful for our “au-some” kiddos, and we wouldn’t change them for the world….

Karli Speaks

It’s Mothers Day……………and thank God I planned ahead. I knew hubby was going to be working all day so I got a sitter. I went to a bookstore to enjoy the quiet, and I began thinking about Mother’s Day and what it means.

For most of my life, Mother’s Day was about MY mom. I wasn’t a mom, so it was just about appreciating her and loving her, which has always been easy for me to do with the mom that I am fortunate enough to have. I never longed to be a mom myself, so just appreciating the fabulous one I had was enough every Mother’s Day.

I began to look around the bookstore at all the families, wondering what they were thinking about Mothers Day, and how they were celebrating. All these “normal” (that’s my word for not autistic) kids running around, their parents quietly reprimanding them to…

View original post 880 more words

Thoughts? I would love to hear them! Leave a reply!

