It’s Adventure Time

It’s Adventure Time

This weekend, scheduled between 15+ hours a week of ABA (Applied Behavior Analysis), OT (Occupational Therapy), ABA tutoring, ABA counseling, Parent Strategy Meetings, Social Skills classes, and Mental health counseling (for the bullying), my darling husband decided it was time to take a trip back to see his family in Louisiana and Mississippi. That’s about a 9-10 hour drive, and being my little Aspies’ rigid adherence to schedules and routine, this was going to be quite a challenge.

Thank goodness for ABA. His ABA team has made such a difference. They implemented a “packing checklist” as well as an official “trip itinerary” for Christian to use. They have (together) created a reward-based goal for him to go 7 full days without a meltdown (defined clearly as more than 30 seconds of crying, arguing, repetitive vocals or movements). While he did get very anxious while we were packing, he was able to keep himself from having a complete fall-out. This is progress. Typically packing for even an overnight stay is a battle that would make General Lee cancel his travel plans and say “I’ll just stay home!”

Nonetheless, after a week of therapy, doctor appointments, and pretty much burning the candle at BOTH ends (a more accurate metaphor for my week would be throwing the candle into a freagging bonfire), I am plum worn out. I feel like each of my limbs weigh a ton. Either that or the earth is spinning faster and sucking me into the earth’s crust. You ASD Moms, you know what I mean. You get it. You also cohabitate the earth’s mantle (thank you, “Christapedia”–my little ASD science professor).

Needless to say, I got us packed and we hit the road. This is what we look like, once we hit the interstate:

My Caffeinated Husband

20140425-190644.jpg

My Electronically connected Kiddo:

20140425-190848.jpg

And super Mom…….who packed everyone, and made this trip possible, thank you very much….

20140425-191153.jpg

Woosah. Here we come!

One response to “It’s Adventure Time

Thoughts? I would love to hear them! Leave a reply!

